Christian Blanken AW 2012

Last year I was invited to the Christian Blanken presentation at Somerset House (London Fashion Week SS 2012). It was one of my favourite presentations and I fell in love with the designer and his collection. This year, I was delighted to be invited along to his AW12 catwalk show and yet again, the man did not disappoint.

His collection was sleek, stunning and every single piece was incredibly desirable.

To say I had a great seat was a bit of an understatement as I sat FROW next to Jacquetta Wheeler. Note: Instant way to make yourself look fat and ugly – sit next to a supermodel. She was very lovely though. We chatted LFW and Christian Blanken – who she recently wore on a photo shoot. Here’s her on the cover of Phoenix magazine:

Christian Blanken’s collection built on his signature sportswear aesthetic with clean tailoring, lush fabrics such as cashmere, leather and alpaca.

There was an amazing display of metallics and sequins in an overall luxurious collection. The colour palette was based on graphic blacks, ivory and greys on one hand, with a warm range of camels and chocolates on the other, as well as strong splashes of sexy red and oranges.

Every single outfit had such a visual impact and the evening dresses in particular were a big hit, being simple but with masses of elegance and glamour.

The shoes were by Terry De Havilland Couture, the shoe designer, who I’d been to see earlier that morning and were ideal for the show, the metallic foil stilettos complementing the designs perfectly.

It was my favourite catwalk of the season, every item was just stunning. His evening wear is a dream and I would just die to wear some of those trouser suits to work.

Here’s some last snaps of the show:

After the amazing catwalk, I headed to two aftershow parties – so much to fit in with London Fashion Week. The first being the British Fashion Council’s, London Fashion Week’s Designers Party at the Rose Club. Soon after I left there, Will.I.Am popped in to DJ. From Newcastle Fashion Week to London Fashion Week – he follows me everywhere! I left to pop over to Mahiki, for Christian Blanken’s after show party where I met the man himself. He was so lovely and great to congratulate him in person for his amazing new collection. Here’s to his next show!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

